Video Draft

Here is the First draft for my video project. There are a few more things I would like to add, such as text intros over the video when I introduce each topic. I also want to do a little bit more editing done on the audio. Listed below the link is the script for the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4ybCBuxjUg

(Start with a shot over Tucker’s head)Text on screen: Everything I needed to know in life I learned from my horses

I like to tell people that I grew up on a horse, but that’s not really true. I didn’t actually get my first horse until I was 7, and I didn’t really get heavily involved with horses till a year or so after that. Looking back I wish I would have been more involved sooner. Over the years of training and working with my horses, I’ve realized that my horses gave me almost everything I needed to succeed in life. Here are a few of the concepts my horses taught me: (cut from video to slideshow)

  1. Confidence, ßtext on screen. Without Confidence, you aren’t going anywhere. It’s the first step in handling a horse, and in accepting yourself. Before you get anything done, you have to believe you can do it, if you believe you can do it, so will others. If you don’t have confidence in yourself, why should anyone else? A horse can feel when their rider is afraid, an uneasy rider will always lead to a skittish horse.
  2. Courage. Don’t be afraid to stand up for yourself. Make friends, but don’t ever let someone walk all over you. Be nice, but never let someone treat you like less then you are worth. It’s often hard to find a happy medium between being nice and being taken advantage of, and I often find myself thinking what I would allow my horse to get away with and comparing that to what I allow people to get away with.
  3. Perseverance. Hold your ground and don’t ever give up on your goals, keep trying and pushing until you reach them. Never stop before you accomplish what you set out to do. This is one of the hardest things to hold true to, but one of the most important. No matter how many tears you’ve shed over the fact that your mule still won’t take his bit, or how many times your mare dances around the puddle or how many times you’ve fallen off trying to work that annoying crow-hop out of her lope, you pick yourself up, dust yourself off, wipe your tears away, figure out why you failed in the first place, and get right back on. Never beat yourself up about past mistakes, but don’t forget them either, learn from them and make yourself better from it.
  4. Hard work. If you want reap the benefits, you have to put in the time. The more you invest in something the better it will feel when you finally reach the outcome. You can’t have a clean barn and a well fed horse with soft hands. You can’t have a bombproof horse unless you spend time to train it. It’s unrealistic to expect all things to work out without some interference.
  5. Sincerity. If something doesn’t come from your heart, what good is it? Be straight forward and honest, if you try to trick and deceive to get your way, you’ll just be left worse off than where you started. Say what you mean, and mean what you say.

Of all the things I have learned over the past several years, these are the most valuable lessons my horses have taught me. I don’t regret a single moment spent fighting, falling, failing, arguing, reasoning, bargaining, or begging any of my horses or mules. Although not every moment was fun, I learned more about life on those rides then I think I ever did in a class room. 

 

By karabeseler

3 comments on “Video Draft

  1. I think that most of the problems with my video lay in editing. There are several things that I plan on adding to the final version. such as a title in text that appears over the video, and I would also like to improve the transitions between the different topics that I discuss in the video. There are also a few technical things that I want to fix, such as any dead air or other issues with the sound or video quality.

  2. Cool, your video is awesome. I think you have a great start going for you and can see that the final part of it is going to be good. One thing i would say is that you should have a title page. Also maybe add some transitions. Just some stuff that we learned in class would be good. I think you are off to a great start and good luck!

  3. I think you have a better video than what you think. I like how you divided your video in topics, I think that for the story board we need to be more detailed (including my own video) with the time in which each section starts. Your pictures show a lot of what you’re talking about and it is easier to understand what you are trying to say. Towards the end of your video you chose the same footage that you used in the beginning, I really like that because it seems to wrap the entire video together. There definitely needs to be a smoother transition on that part, but other than that I think you are on the right track!

Leave a comment