Wrap-Up

Of all the projects I’ve had an opportunity to do this semester, my favorite was the work we did with Adobe Premier Pro. I really liked learning about all the tricks that can be used in video editing. I think I’ll probably use the skills I learned with Photoshop and with Premier Pro the most in the future.

Although I liked many of the skills that I learned from this class, I don’t see myself going in to Communications, I’m still pretty committed to Microbiology.  I really want to pursue a career in research, particularly in biotechnology in fields such as gene therapy or genetic engineering. Although I don’t think all of the skills I learned will be directly applicable, computer literacy is always a desirable skill on any application.

This class pretty much covered everything I would have expected out of a Multimedia Content Creation class. There weren’t really any other programs or concepts that I thought needed to be covered or that I had a particular burning desire to learn.

On every topic that was covered in class I found a few additional sites I used to help base my projects off of. Whenever I was working on something and I would get a little stuck, I would google tutorials for whatever program I was using and use them to figure out what else I could do to make it better. Youtube was also very helpful when looking at other examples of video story telling.

While at first I was a little upset that a Microbiology major had to take a communications class (after all if I wanted to interact with other people, I probably wouldn’t major in MicrobiologyJ) I’m glad I gave it a chance. While I might not ever run a youtube channel like RayWilliamJohnson or JennaMarbles, Multimedia skills are very useful to have in any career, and since getting a PhD takes a long time, they may even help me find a job in the meantime.

By karabeseler

Leave a comment